Distribution of ants in the Midwestern USA

This database is based on published species lists from seven Midwestern states, Iowa (Buren 1944), Illinois (DuBois & LaBerge 1989), Indiana (Morris 1943, Munsee, et al. 1986), Kansas (Dubois 1985, Dubois & Danoff-Burg 1994), Michigan (Wheeler et al. 1994), North Dakota (Wheeler & Wheeler 1963, 1977), South Dakota (Wheeler & Wheeler 1987), as well as Minnesota (present study). Nomenclature follows Bolton (1995).

The database is divided by subfamily, listed below.



Formicinae, part 1

Formicinae, part 2

Myrmicinae, part 1

Myrmicinae, part 2


Please send any questions or comments regarding these pages to Tim Linksvayer (Tim.Linksvayer@alumni.carleton.edu)
Last modified